Taya Karsten Presidents Cup Recipient

Chargers honour top athletes

The ܼŲͼ Chargers Athletics Department recognized the accomplishments of its athletes at the annual Chargers Awards Ceremony on April 4, 2024 at CFB Esquimalt Chief and Petty Officers’ Mess.

The first awards presented were the team awards. The Team Rookie went to women’s basketball Sevene Grewal (Lord Tweedsmuir Secondary/Surrey, B.C.), men’s basketball Jesse Vogel (Arbor View High/Las Vegas, NV), women’s volleyball Edyn Van Brabant (Bawlf School/Bawlf, AB), and men’s volleyball Kyle Stodola (Ecole Salish Secondary/Surrey, B.C.).

The Team Leadership Awards (respectively) are Rhiannon Ware (Medicine Hat High/Medicine Hat, AB), Eric Lees (Charles Hays Secondary/Prince Rupert, B.C.), Tahlia Cook (Stelly’s Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), and Liam Conlin (Master’s Academy & College/Calgary, AB).

The Team Most Valuable Players (MVP) are Allison Bobroske (Lambrick Park Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), Jaime Palamos-Molins (Oak Bay High/Meliana, Valencia), Erica Bolink (Pacific Christian Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), and Kris La Guardia (Vancouver College/Vancouver, B.C.).

Later in the evening second year leftside, Jake Bolton (R.A. McMath Secondary/Richmond, B.C.), was presented with the Derek Twomey Scholarship for Sport. The award is presented annually to honour the late Chargers setter, Derek Twomey, and recognizes a men’s volleyball student-athlete who reflects the qualities that Derek brought to the Chargers program.

Women’s volleyball libero, Sloan Thompson (Bishop James Mahoney High/Saskatoon, SK), and women’s basketball guard, Abby Rauh (Argyle Secondary/North Vancouver, B.C.), received the Trudy and Doug Peden Charitable Foundation Award for their work ethic, commitment and performance in their respected sport.

The final award of the night was the President’s Award which recognizes that student-athlete who best demonstrates a combined achievement in athletics and academics. The President’s Award was presented to women’s basketball third year forward, Taya Karsten (Medicine Hat High School/Medicine Hat, AB).

“Congratulations to all of our student-athletes for representing the college on and off the court. I hope your time at the college has given you the education, leadership and skills to take charge of your future. We are proud of your achievements.”

Lane Trotter, President of ܼŲͼ

Allie Brinton (Lambrick Park Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), Edvard Adolfsen (Toppvolley Norway/Sandes, Norway), Gracie May (Belmont Secondary, Victoria, B.C.), Laughlin Scherger (Mildura Senior College Australia/Mildura, Australia), Lucas Sheets (Belmont Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), Mya Robinson (Vernon Secondary/Coldstream, B.C.), along with Bobroske, Bolink, La Guardia, Stodola, Palamos-Molins, Vogel, and Ware were recognized for their efforts on the court by the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST) and the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA).

Other awards were presented during the evening, including the Passion Sports Legacy Awards which recognized and honoured athletes who demonstrate a dedication to their program and positively enhance the collegiate sport for others. The recipients are Grewal, Noah Helman (Claremont Secondary/Victoria, B.C.), Van Brabant and Stodola.

Contact information

Stacie Couch

Athletics & Student Life Marketing Officer